Day 11

“Can I smoke in here?”

“I’m sorry, but smoking is not permitted indoors,” the shrink replied.

“You know, I chose you because google rated you unconventional,” she replied back.

“If you want, you can have a cigarette outside. I could come with you.”

“Never mind,” she huffed back as she pushed her long black hair away from her face.

“So, what can I do for you today?” asked the therapist as he folded his legs over the other in his large leather chair. The room was a disappointment to her, it was classic cliche, with relevant books on the shelves and a large oak desk that supported the standard issue MacBook. Even the carpeting was conventional.

She placed both palms on her face, then started to slowly drag her fingers through the stray strands of hair. She looked sad.

“I need you to cure me.”

“From what dear girl?” he asked as he leaned forward. He watched her play with her lower lip as she contemplated if telling him would be worth the risk.

“It’s stupid, just forget it. I keep thinking that other people have the answers I’m looking for, when the truth is, you don’t,” as she started to gather her things to leave, he neatly unfolded his legs and headed towards the door, it was only when she looked up that she saw he had locked her in the room.

Gazing at him startled, he then said, “you wanted unconventional.” She smirked.

“Now, you don’t have to speak to me right away, but know that we are not leaving until you feel better,” he said as he strode to this throne.

She walked towards the bookshelf as she thumbed through the various volumes of psychology classics.

“Do you think the soul is strong enough to will someone else to act upon it?”

“I think the soul is one of the strongest forces in organic nature, but I don’t know if a soul could actually do what you mentioned.”

“Oh,” she said as her face fell.

“That being said, I have seen cases where positive thinking has performed some miracles.”

“Doctor, am I crazy? It couldn’t have just been me, this can’t all just be in my head,” suddenly her face lit up. “I mean I know the mind can play tricks on a person, but I know in my heart that it isn’t just me. Tell me I’m not crazy, tell me that everything I see and feel is true.”

A look of sheer confusion flooded his face. “Why don’t we start at the beginning dear.”

He watched her pace back and forth.

“I’m going to make this a reality. You’ll see. Because it’s true. I have to show you, I have to show you how powerful the soul is. You have to let me free so I can show you.”

“I want you to show me, but please, you must realise that you can not force someone else to see what you see, to feel what you feel. If you continue going down this road, you risk that state of your own mental health.”

“No! Stop. You’re just like everyone else, you don’t see it because you’ve never felt it.” Her eyes reflected a panicked look as she started pinching the inside of her left arm.

He walked towards hers, gently placing her arms by her side, “sometimes the young heart is especially vulnerable. We as humans, sometimes have the tendency to distort reality…”

“You think I’m crazy.”

“I think you are passionate, and with a few more sessions…” He trailed off as he watched her gather her things and stride towards the door.  She turned to him, “You’ll see, I’ll restore all the doubt you ever had. I will change the way you treat your patients, and the way you see life. Now, let me free.”

Her eyes pleaded with him desperately. He didn’t want her to leave, but against his better judgement, he too wanted to believe.

So he let her go.

So that she could prove to him, and the world, the power of her soul.

Sweet Dreams World.

Categories: Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

