Day 9

Dear Aiden,

 

I’ve just tucked you in, you are safe in sound with your little Elmo clutched in one hand and your blue blankey keeping you warm. Skrillex and Nina are sleeping outside your door. You are growing up so fast my little one. You already know your numbers and colours. You’ve just started speaking in complete sentences. I am so proud of you and I know I always will be.

Today we sat on the kitchen floor and I gave you a Hershey’s Kiss, you took off the tip and ate it. You then took the bag from me and insisted on eating all the tips of the rest. You never fail to amuse me. I love watching you play with the dogs, although really baby, you’ve got to stop kicking them. I know they ate your gingerbread house and they are obsessed with chewing on your toys, but they mean well.

I love watching you try to catch snowflakes. My new favourite thing to do now is wake you up in the middle of the night. You usually lazily smily as I hold you in my arms and we watch a movie. I need to let you sleep, but I can’t help it.

You seemed to have developed a few of my bad habits, I know I should stop you from saying “fucking shit,” but come on, it’s really funny sometimes. I mean you’re two, it’s really cute. But that too has to stop. You discovered your christmas presents that I had hid in my office, I still hope you’re surprised when you unwrap them.

I love everything about you, everything. When I close my eyes and think of you, my heart smiles. You keep me stable and grounded.

I think you are happier here. It’s hard to believe that just 6 short months ago we lived in a different country. One without snow, but filled with warmth. We had to leave because we wanted you to have a normal childhood, where you could be free. Today there are people back in Egypt, back home, who are fighting for these freedoms, because they too want their children to grow up free in a country that doesn’t treat boys and girls differently. They want to live with the freedoms that many in the world take for granted. Freedom to say what they want to say, to believe what they want to believe, and to have the option to pursue happiness if they so wish.

You don’t need super powers to overcome obstacles, these men and women in Egypt are relying on their sheer will and desire for a better future. They refuse to be bullied, forced into a system that they don’t all agree with, and that is an honourable fight my love. You come from a place where complacency isn’t acceptable, and that is something to be proud of.

These people are heroes. You come from a land of heroes baby. So as you grow older, know that you should fight for what you believe in. What only a few thousand are risking everything for will affect millions Aiden, it will change the lives of millions for the better.

Sometimes, it’s hard to distinguish which side is right, usually the answer lays in the grey. This is why you must follow your gut – your heart. It might feel like there’s no end in sight, no light at the end of the tunnel, but trust me, there is, and when you reach your goal, it will all be worth it.

You come from a land of heroes, a dying breed as of late. If people can change the course of history is less than a week, imagine what you could do.

I can’t wait to watch you evolve into the person you are going to become. I hope you like your presents.

Sweet Dreams Aiden,

I love you,

mommy.

Categories: Uncategorized

1 reply

  1. this is wonderful and very well written

Leave a Reply

