Day 6

It’s over between us. Not because I want it to be, but because it has to be. You gave me the best 10 years, although arguably any 10 years could potentially be my best 10.

When we first met, I didn’t like you. I thought you were close minded and not open to someone like me. I thought you wouldn’t be able to give me what I needed to grow, to become. But funny how the tables turn, now it’s me that your ideologies don’t align with. During our 10 years together you introduced me to my best friend who would wipe away my tears, usually from laughing too hard. We learned how to barbecue on balconies and drink through the night. You inspired me to break free. You showed me the courage to be me. I learned how to adapt because of you. The most loyal people I’ve ever met in the world reside in you. We shared many first kisses and many good byes. We earned our College Degrees together. We shared my proudest days. We spent endless money on phone bills and carbs.

I met the love of my life because of you.
Then you taught me heart break.

Don’t get me started on all the nights we spent together, going out and meeting all the crazy beautiful people in the city. Remember the 8th floor? Remember the 12th? Remember curfew? We tried everything together, even if we shouldn’t have. When I first met you, you didn’t even know what a Starbucks was.

The definition and value of family only crystallized because of you. You were my home, we witnessed the birth of my child together. You watched him grow, nurtured him to find himself. You were so good to him, although if we’re going to be honest, you weren’t so kind to your many others.  You, me and family would sit for hours on end every Friday and giggle mercilessly into the night. It’s funny because it’s almost a right of passage to sit their for hours and complain about you with everyone and anyone, but I don’t do that anymore. Not since…

Now it’s different. Now it’s done, and not because it has to be, but because the others that you are with in our delusional open relationship don’t want you to be with people like me. Do you know what you did to me? You made me say good bye to my best friend. I don’t know if I’ll ever see him again. You made me pack up my beautiful cozy house, you made me sell our cars, you made me close my accounts. You made me leave my business right after its birth. Because of you, I lost 10 years of friends over night, because of you my Fridays are like any other day. But the worst part of all, the part that’s truly hard to swallow is that I don’t know if I’ll ever see you again. I’ll never know if ultimately in your heart you choose people like me over people like them.

I’m not mad at you. I know it’s not your fault, I want to believe that you will be ok, and I think you will, but I just don’t know.

I’m sorry Egypt. You will always have a piece of my heart, but we’re done.

I love you.

Maybe you’ll come back for me…

Sweet Dreams World

Categories: Uncategorized

6 replies

  1. Its ok Egypt drove this anti Tahrir felol to the streets to defend it.

  2. Teared me up 😦 I feel the same.

  3. I feel you…I really do. I think people who grew up or lived outside of Egypt develop an idealistic perception of Egypt and the meaning of being Egyptian. So when these people see Egypt in its current state and actually live it on a daily basis, they feel disappointes…heart broken…let down…and rightly so.

    Having said that, it’s exactly that idealistic notion of Egypt that we need to work for and never lose sight of. It is what makes us love it so much despite the tragic state it’s in. It is a gem that has stood the test of time, and time and time again it has persevered. We cannot abandon her, regardless of how bad she looks like now.

  4. Darn. I hoped you were writing about a person so I could relate.
    I like your blog. I’m just not sure I can read about families right now. I’ll still add you to Favorites and check back from time to time. I like the Writer’s aspect.

  5. I meant to say I’ll still Follow You.

Leave a Reply

